PGIN to honor outstanding Ilocano cops, civilian volunteer groups


Feb. 03, 2016 ...

For their unwavering commitment in the service, 14 policemen, four police stations and volunteer groups are set to be honored by the Provincial Government of Ilocos Norte (PGIN) and the Ilocos Norte Police Provincial Office (INPPO) on February 5, 2016 at the Ilocos Norte Centennial Arena.

The awarding rites is in line with the 198th Foundation Anniversary of the Province of Ilocos Norte.

Governor Imee R. Marcos said that the event, which was first held in 2014, aims to commend the police force for their support to the provincial government in maintaining the peace and order situation in the province.

Among the police officers who will be recognized are PCI Amador M. Quiocho, PCI Dennis M. Sumalileng, PSUPT Jose C. Calpito III, PSI Paul Benedict R. Parado, PSUPT Adolfo T. Rafanan, PCI Dexter Diovic T. Corpuz, PCI Jonathan B. Papay, PCI Randy C. Baoit, PSUPT Leland T. Benigno, PCI Rodrigo B. Galino, PSUPT Dexter Mariano T. Paredes, SPO4 Ramelito F. Piedad, PSUPT Albert E. Ocon and SPO2 Aurora Joy D. Manuela.

Aside from the police officers, four local police stations and four civilian crime prevention volunteer groups across the province will also be awarded, according to INPPO.

Leading the Best Performing City Police Station is the Laoag City Police Station, headed by PSUPT Edwin C. Balles, for garnering the highest performance evaluation rating at 86.98%.

While the first place in Best Performing Municipal Stations is the Paoay Municipal Police Station, headed by PSI Nelson Del Castillo, as they earned the highest performance evaluation rating at 82.89%.

The cited police stations have displayed competence, coordinated efforts, perseverance, high sense of responsibility and commitment which elevated their effectiveness in crime prevention and crime solution in Ilocos Norte, said INPPO.

Meanwhile, civilian volunteer groups in the province like the Motorist Anti-Street Crime Operatives (MASCO) and Barangay Peacekeeping Action Team (BPAT) Association for Direct Operations (MASCOBADO) will also be awarded.

Governor Marcos noted that the support given by the volunteer groups has been important in ensuring public safety and internal security in Ilocos Norte.

All of the awardees, who will receive certificates of recognition and cash prizes, were also chosen for their extraordinary efforts in disaster preparedness and response, aggressive efforts in conduct of drug operations, mobilizing the community against crime prevention and for working hand-in-hand with the provincial government, noted INPPO.