Matthew Marcos Manotoc re-elected as Ilocos Norte governor


May. 10, 2022 ...

Incumbent Governor Matthew Marcos Manotoc wins re-election by landslide victory in the 2022 National and Local Elections and will serve his second term as Governor of the Province of Ilocos Norte in the next three years.

This afternoon at the Sangguniang Panlalawigan Session Hall, Marcos Manotoc was proclaimed the winner of the gubernatorial race by the Commission on Elections (COMELEC) through the provincial board of canvassers.

Governor Marcos Manotoc received 261,885 votes, compared to 94,372 votes for his rival, former Congressman Rodolfo "Rudy" Fariñas.

"Gusto kong magpasalamat sa mga kakailian po namin. Dios ti agnginga (Thank you very much). Many many thanks. As we have said in the past, Ilocos Norte leads the Solid North and it's truly an honor and a pleasure to work here in Ilocos Norte as your Governor," he remarked in a press interview after the proclamation ceremony.

Team Marcos secures key posts in 2022 elections

Team Marcos secures key positions in Ilocos Norte after a major win in the 2022 elections for provincial officials. Joining re-elected Governor Marcos Manotoc are First District Congressman-elect Ferdinand Alexander "Sandro" Marcos, who received 108,423 votes, and re-elected Second District Congressman Angelo Marcos Barba, who received 127,867 votes.

Governor Marcos Manotoc's ally, re-elected Vice Governor Cecilia Araneta-Marcos also saw a landslide win with 267,896 votes.

In addition, the First District Board members who claimed victory are Atty. Saul Lazo (88,031 votes), Atty. Franklin Dante Respicio (83,423 votes), Atty. Donald Nicolas (81,633 votes), and Ms. Portia Salenda (78,890 votes). Meanwhile, the Second District Board Members are Mr. Rafael Medina (88,094 votes), Dr. Medeldorf Gaoat (81,181 votes), Mr. Giancarlo Crisostomo (61,678 votes), and Mr. Jonathan Torralba (57,540 votes.)

Winning candidates from other political parties, on the other hand, complete the set of provincial officials: Junior Fariñas, who was re-elected as a provincial board member and received the most votes (90,259), earning him the title of Senior Board Member; and Second District Board Member Aladine Santos (63,035 votes), an independent candidate.

The newly-elected national and local government officials will officially take office after their formal inauguration on the 30th of June.