Ilocos Norte shows "solid performance" at R1AA kick-off


Mar. 07, 2019 ...

The 2019 Region One Athletic Association (R1AA) Meet was officially declared open yesterday, March 6, at the Marcos Memorial Stadium in Laoag City, Ilocos Norte.

Fourteen school division offices from the Ilocos Region are competing: Alaminos City, Batac City, Candon City, Dagupan City, Ilocos Norte, Ilocos Sur, Laoag City, La Union, Pangasinan I, Pangasinan II, San Carlos City, San Fernando City, Urdaneta City, and Vigan City.

Dagupan City was last year's R1AA champion, with Ilocos Sur as host province.

Department of Education (DepEd) Assistant Secretary Revsee Escobedo lauded the Province of Ilocos Norte for providing a "festive and orderly opening ceremony," and praised the "solid performance" of the entire Ilocos Region, in line with this year's R1AA theme: "One Goal, One North."

Escobedo also reiterated the DepEd's aim this year: "We want to revive and popularize our own indigenous sports among our teachers and students. By playing these indigenous sports, we are promoting our raise and our heritage."

Moreover, Former Senator Ferdinand "Bongbong" Marcos Jr. shared that participating in sports events hones skills such as sacrifice, discipline, camaraderie, and fair play, adding, "These show that these playing fields that we have here before us are not only the basis for our champions but they are also the ground of our leaders."

Miss Ilocos Norte 2018 Trisha Aceret of Bacarra; "Iron Man of Southeast Asia" Jesson Ramil Cid of Dingras; and Olympian trap shooter Eric Ang of Laoag City did the honor of lighting up the R1AA urn.

The 2019 Meet ends on March 11. Originally, the event was scheduled for March 3-8, but was postponed upon recommendation of the Department of Health (DOH) to make way for sufficient immunization measures in light of rising measles cases in the region.

Ilocos Norte last hosted the Meet in 2010, towards the term-end of Governor Michael Marcos Keon. The province had maintained an 11-year R1AA championship (including the years it was still called the Ilocos Region Athletic Association or IRAA) until Pangasinan I unseated the contingent in 2011.