Triumphant win

Nov 29, 2015 ...

For this year, Tan-ok ni Ilocano involved a “double challenge” to the contingents as they were judged through the integration of the “film, animation and special effects” in their overall live dance performance.

Governor Marcos noted that the new component brings the various folk dances and indigenous peoples’ tradition of the province to the “platforms of our youth, of Instagram, Twitter, facebook and the rest.”

“Truly, culture must be kept alive by the young people…we will see them adapt these ancient civilizations, these vanishing worlds and bring them to the multi-platform that is today’s world,” she added.

With a surprising second place win last year, the Dinaklisan Festival of the Municipality of Currimao triumphantly won the first place this year taking it from the three-time champion Laoag City.

Their performance featured a celebration of the Ilocano’s unique culture of ‘timpuyog’ or unity that is highlighted in coastal areas.

From a third place win last year, the Tadek Festival of the Municipality of Nueva Era garnered the second prize this year as their performance showcased their interpretation of a thanksgiving ritual offered to the deities whom the people of the town owed the abundance of their harvest.

The Municipality of Nueva Era also received the Best Video award, which is the newly-added component of the competition.

Coming in a surprising third place this year is the Ani Festival of the Municipality of Dingras which featured a celebration of the extraordinary efforts, passion and dedication of Ilocano mannalon (farmers). The municipality also won a special award as Best in Production Design.

In an unexpected turn of events, the Pamulinawen Festival of Laoag City failed to enter the top three major prizes after becoming the first hall-of-fame awardee of the competition in 2014.

Other winners are: Bangui’s Amian Festival, 5th Runner-Up; Vintar’s Siwawer Festival, 4th Runner-Up; Adams’ Ginginubatan Festival, 3rd Runner-Up; Laoag’s Pamulinawen Festival, 2nd Runner-Up; Carasi’s Magdadaran Talip Festival, 1st Runner-Up.

Special awards were also given to: Pamulinawen Festival of Laoag City as Best Ensemble and Christian Balite of Bac-Bacarra Festival of Municipality of Bacarra as Best Performer.

by John Michael Mugas

More News